LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to read Serial Data from Arduino using labview VISA?

Solved!
Go to solution

Hi =). Im a beginner working reading serial data from an arduino but im facing... Lets do this step by step

I constructed a voltage divider circuit that gives an output ranging from 0 to 5V. The output of this circuit is sent to an analog input pin 0 of an Arduino Duemilanove board.

1) Firstly I plugged in the cable connecting my laptop USB to the arduino board.

2) I went to start->control panel->system->hardware->device manager. Check out Ports(COM & LPT). In my laptop I can see USB Serial Port (COM4). Now I know in Labview I have to read serial data from COM 4.

3) For the arduino side, here is the code to read voltage variations inputted to analog pin 0. The last line 'delay' determines the sampling rate of how we want to sample the voltage divider output:

int potPin = 0;    // select the input pin for the voltage divider output
int val = 0;       // variable to store the value coming from the sensor

void setup()
{
  Serial.begin(9600);    // opens serial port, sets data rate to 9600 bps
}

void loop() {
  val = analogRead(potPin); // read the value from the voltage divider
  Serial.println(val);
  delay(10);
}

I have slightly modified the basic serial read write VI.. I have attached the block diagram used with comments. Basically I tried to read serial data, divide by 1023 and multiply by 5 in order to graph voltage variations from the voltage divider circuit.  However Im not getting the correct voltage output values . The voltage value just keeps going to 0 and coming again as shown in the pic.

Could you guys please guide me on what went wrong?

Thanks!

Download All
Message 1 of 141
(117,567 Views)
Solution
Accepted by Jazlan

- you're reading data, even if there is no data on the port. if 0 bytes are read => ""

- in the false case, you have VISA resource wired to the string output tunnel?