From 04:00 PM CDT – 08:00 PM CDT (09:00 PM UTC – 01:00 AM UTC) Tuesday, April 16, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to plot 3D surface graph from X,Y,Z points?

Hi guys,

This is my first post on a help forum ever (!), I have been using LabView for about 2 years, and I would really appreciate some help with this topic...

I too would like to get the data in my 3D scatter graph to be represented as a 3D surface.  The reason being is I have another 3D surface graph (not shown in my VI) with multiple plots on, and as far as I am aware you are unable to mix surfaces and scatters on the same set of axis?

I have followed the instructions in this thread, ie: with the example given in post #5, using the downloadable 3D polynomial fit and evaluation VI's.

And this has worked but I have lost all definition in my graph.  As can be seen in the scatter graph there is defined red coloured rod in the centre.  In the surface plot this definition has been lost and it just looks like a red dome.  Also the max Z value is 0.7, and the surface plot incorrectly shows it as 0.5, as it has been over smoothed.

How would you recommend that I plot a more accurate representation of this data as a surface?

Many thanks, Sarah

0 Kudos
Message 21 of 34
(4,738 Views)

it appears that the surface plot doesn't allow for as much precision as the scatter plot. Have you tried changing any settings in the 3D Properties window? 

Corey C

Applications Engineer

National Instruments 

0 Kudos
Message 22 of 34
(4,698 Views)

Thanks for the reply.

I don't think it’s the fault of the surface graph itself....

After applying the poly nominal interpolation filter (suggested as the fix for this problem in post #5) the data is changed dramatically.