LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to parse UDP byte stream ?

Hello,

I receive binary sensor data from different sensors via UDP (Header + Data (e.g. 4 byte uint) + End). I can read the data as a string (I used the UDP Receiver.vi example), but what is an efficient way to parse the data und to view the data on an indicator ?

cheers, Tobias
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 9
(4,927 Views)
Hi Tobias,

when the data string has a fixed length it should be easiest to TypeCast into a properly defined cluster!
Best regards,
GerdW

using LV2016/2019/2021 on Win10/11+cRIO, TestStand2016/2019
Message 2 of 9
(4,924 Views)
Hi,

thank you for the fast answer. Unfortunately the message size is not fixed, but the size is contained in the header (byte 3), which has a fixed size. how can i parse this ?

Regards, Tobias
0 Kudos
Message 3 of 9
(4,904 Views)
Solved 🙂
0 Kudos
Message 4 of 9
(4,895 Views)

Hi, I am new to Labview and am trying to do exactly this. Would it be possible to you to generate a simple example of "TypeCast into a properly defined cluster"? Thanks Joe

0 Kudos
Message 5 of 9
(3,895 Views)

@joe5213 wrote:

Hi, I am new to Labview and am trying to do exactly this. Would it be possible to you to generate a simple example of "TypeCast into a properly defined cluster"? Thanks Joe

The second Type Cast is the example you are looking for.  The first one was just to make some the string in the first place.

GCentral
There are only two ways to tell somebody thanks: Kudos and Marked Solutions
Unofficial Forum Rules and Guidelines
"Not that we are sufficient in ourselves to claim anything as coming from us, but our sufficiency is from God" - 2 Corinthians 3:5
0 Kudos
Message 6 of 9
(3,883 Views)