LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to organize Actors for a hardware interface?

I'm somewhat new to Actor framework and this is my first major project using it. I've completed a few simple Actors before and integrated them into larger applications.

I am communicating with a device over Ethernet. A proprietary program takes in ASCII commands and passes them to the device. Data is returned along the same TCP connection as ASCII strings.

I want to display the data to the user in a UI. In the future, the proprietary communication program may be swapped out for a custom in-house program. There are likely to be different UIs in the future.

I decided to create 3 Actors: a Hardware Interface / Listener actor, a Controller actor, and a UI actor. I want to keep communication between the three Actors simple and consistent, so potential future Actors are able to handle the same messages. The Listener and UI actors may be substituted for other actors in the future (a certainty in the case of the UI actor).

A critical task of the UI is to be able to display the parameters/settings of the device. There are several dozen different settings. The UI is interested in displaying some of them as indicators, issuing warnings depending on other parameters, and ignoring other updates. The UI's response to a specific parameter would change depending on which UI is being used.

What I'm struggling with is this:

1. Which Actor should store the hardware's current parameters/settings?
  2. Should there be multiple copies of the hardware's current settings in each Actor?
  3. How should the parameters be passed around? Should there be an abstract Parameter class?
  4. If I used an abstract Parameter class, would dynamic dispatch be the best way to handle different UI reactions?