LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to open saved files using 'read from text file' function

Hi everyone, I am having a hard time trying to solve the this particular problem ( probably because I am a newb to lanbview ). Anyway , I am able to save the acquired waveforms by using the 'Write to text file' icon. I did manually modify the block diagram of the 'Write to text file' icon and create the correct number of connector so as to make my program work. But now I have no idea on how to modify the block diagram of the 'Read from text file' block diagram to make my program 'open' my saved waveforms. Or i do not have to modify anything from the block diagram of the 'Read from text file'? Can anyone teach/help me connect up? Do i need the build array on the "open" page?

Here are some screenshots on part of my program 🙂 

let me know if you guys would need more information / screenshots 🙂 thank you!

Download All
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 8
(2,998 Views)

What is your LabVIEW version. In all recent version "write to text file" in not something you can modify. Your modification was very misguided and shows very poor understanding of LabVIEW and dataflow. (e.g. Why is the orange array terminal inside the loop? Why is array to spreadsheet string inside the loop? Why do you loop multiple times if you are always writing the same data? Why is there a 500ms delay? That makes no sense even though you added a diagram comment)

You should never modify stock VI. If the connectors don't match, you are using the wrong tools! For example, "write to spreadsheet file" is probably what you want.

Please attach your VI instead of images. We cannot debug images.

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 8
(2,983 Views)

Why are you making it so difficult for yourself? Simply write using the Write to Spreadsheet File and read with the Read From Spreadsheet File.