From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to make a FM radio transmitter using Labview and USRP2920??

I am new to labview and USRP and I am trying to explore my new USRP2920. I have been able to work out an example of fm receiver but I now want to make a radio station of my own..Can any1 help plzzz

Message 1 of 9
(7,916 Views)

Hi chahatb,

There is a few example of FM transmitter on NI website. You may want to have a look on those. Some of the example can be found as below,

https://decibel.ni.com/content/docs/DOC-24206

https://decibel.ni.com/content/docs/DOC-25893

There also examples on transmitting signal using USRP that are shipped with USRP which can be found as below

C:\Program Files (x86)\National Instruments\LabVIEW 2013\examples\instr\niUSRP\

TuiTui

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 9
(7,881 Views)

Hi TuiTui,

Thanks for the help but earlier also I went through this example and the problem I found was that it is not transmitting any audible sound. Also do you have any idea how to convert a song into transmittable form???

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 9
(7,862 Views)

Hi chahatb,

That's weird I was able to run the VI from this link and hear the sound from a sound file, https://decibel.ni.com/content/docs/DOC-25893

The question would be how you receive the sound waveform? What is the song file you use to transmit? I would suggest you to try .wav file as i use this file format and it works.

Also make sure that the signal is not interfered by radio frequency from radio station. 

Best regards,

TuiTui

0 Kudos
Message 4 of 9
(7,833 Views)

Thanks!! It works.

Can you advice some texts I need to go through to understand that .vi and to be able to make one of my own?

0 Kudos
Message 5 of 9