LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to keep types straight in PPLS

LV 2013

I'm fairly new to PPLs, so I may be missing something obvious, but I have a dilemma:

Suppose I have a TYPEDEFed ENUM - let's call it X.ctl

Suppose it's in a LVLIB called L.lvlib

That makes its full name into L.lvlib:X.ctl

Suppose I have code that makes a queue of these enums.  The queue data type is queue of L.lvlib:X.ctl

Suppose I put both those into a PPL called L.lvlibp

From outside the PPL, I see a control called L.lvlibp:X.ctl - it changed to the lvlibp version - Fine.

In some other code, I take this queue and add an ENQUEUE ELEMENT to it.

If I pop up on the input of that function and CREATE CONSTANT from it - the constant is BROKEN !

Why?  Because the data type of the queue is queue of L.lvlib:X.ctl, therefore data type of the constant is L.lvlib:X.ctl

IOW it did NOT get changed to queue of L.lvlibp:X.ctl - it is still queue of L.lvlib:X.ctl

If I place a copy of the  L.lvlibp:X.ctl myself, it's not broken,  but if I wire it to the ENQUEUE function, I get a COERCION dot - they are different types.

The code works just fine, but I don't like coercion dots unless explictly needed, and I certainly don't like broken constants.

What can I do to resolve this?

Steve Bird
Culverson Software - Elegant software that is a pleasure to use.
Culverson.com

Blog for (mostly LabVIEW) programmers: Tips And Tricks

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 13
(3,450 Views)

Here is a project to demonstrate this.

Open the USE THE QUEUE project, and open the USE THE QUEUE vi.

Pop up on the input of the ENQUEUE element, and CREATE CONSTANT - it's broken !

Broken.PNG

The other project shows how I built the PPL.

Steve Bird
Culverson.com

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 13
(3,440 Views)

Up to the top for the weekday crowd...

Steve Bird
Culverson.com

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 13
(3,401 Views)

This rather looks like a bug to me.

I *think* to know why this is happening: