cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to get out of deeply nested structures

Solved!
Go to solution

I'm relatively new to LabVIEW and I keep getting into this situation:

when the tasks at hand get a little more complicated, my programs use a lot of nested structures like loop, case, and sequence structures. Now, how does one exit nested structures quickly and cleanly? In a programming language like Java you could throw an exception, but in LabVIEW I'm apparently condemned to use even more case structures to check for error conditions so I can skip and get out immediately when an error has occurred or the abort button was pressed.

I feel I'm doing something terribly wrong. Any input on how I can structure my programs better to avoid this?

Thanks in advance.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 6
(2,741 Views)
Solution
Accepted by topic author someguy

Hi someguy,

ever heard of "state machines" or "producer-consumer pattern"?

You will find a lot of information here in the forum...

When you are new to LabVIEW: you will also find a lot of free resources on NI's website for learning LabVIEW!

Best regards,
GerdW

using LV2016/2019/2021 on Win10/11+cRIO, TestStand2016/2019
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 6
(2,738 Views)

Hi,

An example would be good in this case, can you post one?  

Generally speaking, if you are using a lot of case structures and nested loops, from a software development point of view, I would say the program is not being planned out. Maybe Smiley Happy

Again, in general terms, you should use a state machine with lots of cases that are not nested, so that when you do a specific piece of work you leave the case and are back in the main loop.  If there are a lot of cases, and it sounds like it, then you should try a queue driven state machine, that way you have more control over what case comes next.

Also, you could try a producer consumer, which is queue driven, to more cleanly program the code.

-------
Mark Ramsdale
-------
0 Kudos