LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to establish serial communication between Labview and Arduino Duemilanove board

I am trying to establish a serial communication between Labview 8.6 and Arduino Duemilanova board via USB. I read that USB is the same as RS-232 serial communication just that the USB has a built in USB/RS-232 adapter in it. Please correct me if I am wrong.
I tried to establish the communication using Labview's Basic Serial Write and Read vi example however it was not successful.

In the String to write box on front panel of labview, do I need to specify a string or a command that is used to program the Arduino board via the Arduino software?

Any help will be appreciated. I am new to Labview, so please give as much detail as possible when responding.

Thanks
Max
Message 1 of 35
(26,866 Views)

No, you are not correct at all that USB is the same thing as RS-232. A USB connection on an instrument may emulate an RS-232 but that is actually pretty rare, I believe. Some instruments will use the USBTMC (Test & Measurement Class) and if that's the case, then simple VISA Writes and Reads will work. Other instruments will use other USB classes (such as HID). You need to ask the vendor or if they provided a driver and .inf file, look there to see what is being used. Some basic understanding of USB might be in order. See http://www.usb.org/home.

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 35
(26,852 Views)

I have a better felling that when you are using the communication example that you are just having a variable communication error.    Break out that boards manual and go read if there is a standard communication string that can be sent like "Hello", that will send a response back to the PC. 

Also, when you are doing this use the continuous run and not the 1 time run.  It takes some time for things to respond, and a single run may not give the desired results. 

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 35
(26,836 Views)