LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to enter data into arrays for novices?

Hi there, I am a total novice with labview, and am having a problem inputing data into an array. I want to enter the data into particular cells in the array, but can’t seem to figure out a way of doing it. Every time labview enters data in it increases the size of the array by one and enters the value in a new cell. I want to overwrite the old value of the cell with a voltage when a particular button is pressed. My VI is attached.
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 5
(2,787 Views)

You are using "insert into array" which increases the array by one. To place a new value into an existing array element, keeping the array size constant, you would use "replace array subset".

You should really start out with a few simple tutorials. A lot of your code makes no sense at all.

For example:

• What is the purpose of the local variables to the right of the loop?
  • What is the purpose of the three value property nodes?
  • Why don't you wire to the array terminal?
  • You should place the array into a shift register. This will eliminate all your local variables and value properties of "array"
  • What are you trying to accomplish with the case structures and buttons?
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 5
(2,774 Views)

Here's a quick draft that shows some of the basic ideas (LabVIEW 8.5).

The value of the random number is placed in one of three array positions, depending on the value of a radio button.

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 5
(2,768 Views)