LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to draw a graph of tree structure (using shapes and lines)?

Hello,

I tried to search this solution in the forum, and I see people asking and replying with solutions to similar situation, but I don't get what I am looking for. Also because I have never tried with graphs before.

So, my problem is, I need a function that takes a string with tree structure, as in automata or tree graph, and displays the nodes in tree form. "Tree" is not important, but important is that each object should be displayed as a node and lines connecting them. Please see the image below (with three possible options):

tree graph.png

So, basically, the tree structure could be like X(a, X(a,b), c) where X(a,b) is a sub-tree of higher level X. The program knows the parent-child relationship, so this function only needs to display those elements in a graphical fashion.

I pass the string in the form of a 2D array showing the hierarchy (to simplify).

In the image, I am showing three possible options for showing the tree. The third option eliminates those circles and rectangles, if that simplifies.

I hope I explained clearly.

Thanks ahead!

Vaibhav
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 9
(3,575 Views)
Assuming you passed high school geometry, none of options you pictured would be very difficult using a 2D picture control.

Mike...

Certified Professional Instructor
Certified LabVIEW Architect
LabVIEW Champion

"... after all, He's not a tame lion..."

For help with grief and grieving.
Message 2 of 9
(3,570 Views)

Thanks Mike, for the hint and kind words.

Actually I was just thinking with Graph control. Never saw the 2D Picture control. Now exploring ways to plot the trees.

It seems I don't even need the highschool geometry for this. At most the circle radius. Do you think if I can plot those lines and nodes with some formula? At present I am just thinking about alloting a block of around 50 pixels for each node.

Vaibhav
0 Kudos