LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to delay sequences on LabVIEW?

Hi. I'm new to this programming environment and now working on my first project. I'm now using Arduino Mega interfaced with LabVIEW 2013 via LIFA.

I use digital write palletes to control relays. However, I'd faced problems regarding the delay time. On Arduino IDE, we simply write delay=1000 to delay the said relays. I'd tried using wait (ms) and wait until next ms but both of them turned on the relays and get delayed only after I hit the stop button.

And one more question is why the first channel of my relay turned on right after I uploaded LIFA firmware to the Arduino? Does it supposed to be off (default state)?

Any assistance are greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 10
(6,279 Views)

I don't see any delays in your LabVIEW code.

If you add delays, then you want to make sure they aren't happening in parallel to your other code.  The either need to be put into subVI's so you can use other wires like the error wire to make sure they happen in sequence with the code that activates something, or have them in sequence frames before or between the frames that do something.

Is this VI running on Windows?  If so, the timed sequence structure isn't really intended for Windows applications, it will probably still work though.

I don't understand what you are doing with the local variables, constants, and terminals at the bottom of your VI.  Writing a terminal to its own local variable is pointless.  And all of those constants to the other local variables will all happen at roughly the same time with no control over what happens first because of race conditions and no certainty as to what the final state of those controls will be.

I would recommend looking at the online LabVIEW tutorials
LabVIEW Introduction Course - Three Hours
LabVIEW Introduction Course - Six Hours

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 10
(6,267 Views)