LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to convert addons.vi to standalone vi?

Solved!
Go to solution

Hi there. 

I am an engineer. 

I've a vi (e.g. excel data.vi) and this script used add-ons toolkit, report generation, mainly on excel reporting.

In this add-ons, i found excel get last row.vi but not for column. 

I managed to modify this vi (excel get last row.vi) with additional column feature and it is able to run on my own PC but not for another because what I’ve modified is in my local library only.

I try to make it as standalone vi so that every other PC can use but somehow it is not able to do that as it is connecting the library.

So, is there any way to overcome this so that every PC can use it without modify the library on each of the PC?

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 11
(3,039 Views)

Hi Telasdist,

NEVER EVER change VIs from vi.lib - for exactly the reason you are now complaining about!

When you want to change the functionality of a VI from vi.lib you need to create a copy of this VI. Then put this copy into your user.lib and distritbute it to your collegues using any SCC tool you like to!

Best regards,
GerdW

using LV2016/2019/2021 on Win10/11+cRIO, TestStand2016/2019
Message 2 of 11
(3,020 Views)

Hi GerdW, 

Yup, I understand, changing VIs from vi.lib is not a good solution. 

I try to create a copy of this VI but it has a error "this VI claims to be part of a library, but that library does not claim to own this VI.". 

I tried this:

1) "disconnect from library". but getting problem on the reference "report in" which is out of my labview knowledge. 

2) another way is to add in the copy of this VI into lvlib which is not favorable because it is in vi.lib. 

So, this is my problem. 

Thanks. 

Regards, 

Telasdist

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 11
(2,995 Views)

Hi,

in general you really should leave the vi.lib as it is, especially if you want to distribute your changes.