LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to communicate with the instrument via USB to Serial converter using MAX?

Actually I want to send serial commands through this since the instrument that I am using does not respond to the GPIB standard (?IDN*).

My problem is I cannot connect with the instrument using MAX. I am a Vee Pro user and based on what I read, I need to use the NI-VISA to send serial cmmands to the instrument? Is that correct? Do I have to install NI-VISA drivers?

I badly needed your help. Thanks a lot! 😄

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 14
(3,550 Views)

I don't understand why you believe you have to use serial commands just because the instrument doesn't respond to the GPIB *IDN? command. Lots of old instruments don't respond to that command but you can still program them over GPIB. Are you actually trying to talk to it over GPIB? What kind of GPIB card do you have? What is the instrument?

As far as serial is concerned, there are examples that ship with LabVIEW that show you how to do serial communication in LabVIEW. The important part is the termination character to use when sending a command and when receiving a command. 

In LabVIEW VISA is the recommended API to use, so yes, you should install NI-VISA.

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 14
(3,543 Views)

Yes, you need to install NI-VISA. It's on your driver DVD or click on the support link at the top of the page.

Don't at all understand your comment about needing to use serial since the instrument does respond to *IDN?. You would use serial if the instrument does not have a GPIB interface or if you do not have a GPIB controller. The commands are irrelevant.

Message 3 of 14
(3,542 Views)

hello all,

thanks for the reply.

the only way to communicate with the instrument that I am referring to is through the USB to serial converter interface.  The equipment dont have any GPIB ports or connection. I just use the MAX to find the instrument. Thus, it displays the ASRL instrument.