LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to clean up the list of recent files in the Getting Started Window?

would like to get a copy of your code for editing the GSW shown in this thread.

0 Kudos
Message 11 of 19
(2,217 Views)

Here.

Jim
You're entirely bonkers. But I'll tell you a secret. All the best people are. ~ Alice
For he does not know what will happen; So who can tell him when it will occur? Eccl. 8:7

0 Kudos
Message 12 of 19
(2,205 Views)

thanks

0 Kudos
Message 13 of 19
(2,201 Views)

Labview newbie here, which would be obvious as I am digging up 4 year old posts. Smiley LOL Somehow I landed up asking the same question about recent files. Anyway, at least in Labview 2016, if you change the path of your project, you will be prompted to delete the entry. More or less like windows deleting unwanted shortcuts after uninstalling the parent program.

0 Kudos
Message 14 of 19
(2,043 Views)

Has anyone revisited this on Labview 2017?  jcarmody's code has no actual effect on my displayed list.  Or do you have to clobber Labview just after running this code, so that Labview has no chance to re-save its list over the changes?

0 Kudos
Message 15 of 19
(1,981 Views)

I think that is what you have to do as LabVIEW will resave the ini based on what it has in memory when you go to close it.  Perhaps if you turned this into an exe and ran it while LabVIEW is closed, it would work just fine.

But honestly, it isn't that hard to edit the LabVIEW.ini file while LabVIEW is closed and manually delete the filenames you don't want.  The hardest part of that is that if you want to be selective, finding and highlighting the file names you don't want then hitting the delete key.

0 Kudos
Message 16 of 19
(1,978 Views)