LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to cheaply measure and plot low current over time while sourcing a constant voltage?

Hi!

I am working on a research project which involves me building and characterizing transistors. I do not have access to expensive current sensing intruments but I do need to plot the current (in micro-apms) over time at a constant source-drain voltage (200 millivolt) and see how this current changes when I manually apply different gate volatges.

I am new to the field of measurement and characterisation. I am also low on financial funding so I was hoping that someone here can guide me towards the right Data Aquisition System and the appropriate LABView code to do this measurement. It would be a great help.

I apologise in advance if I sound way out of my depth in this field. But I am in dire need for some guidance. Any help would be HUGELY appreciated.

Thanks in advance!

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 4
(2,454 Views)
You have posted to the wrong board. Measure is an obsolete add-in for Excel. You can click on Options and request that the moderator move your question to either the LabVIEW or Multifunction DAQ board. I would also recommend you contact your local Sales Engineer to discuss your needs.
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 4
(2,449 Views)

Thankyou for notifying me. I didn't know of this since I am new here. I have notified the moderator.

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 4
(2,444 Views)

Some suggestions:

1. Buy "The Art of Electronics" by Paul Horowitz and Winfield Hill. Read the section on instrumentation amplifiers. Look at the Analog Devices website and chose a suitable part.

2. Build 2 instrumentation amplifiers. Make sure they have very high impedance input stages. Put 1 across a current sensing resistor in the drain connection. Put the second between the source and drain.

3. Build a circuit that monitors the output from amplifier 2 and adjusts the source-drain voltage to maintain the required constant 200 mV.