From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to change the input of ROI descriptor?

Solved!
Go to solution

I am a beginner of Labview Vision users. i need to convert a RGB image into binary image and superimpose a few random lines on the binary image, and finally measure the intercept lengths from the image. i came across the problem of modifying ROI by incorporating a few random coordinates (by this coordinates, I can generate random lines.). But i could not find how to modify the coordinates or import the data of coordinate from a excel file.

Any help is appreciated.

Jian

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 5
(4,573 Views)

To import the data from an Excel File, it depends on how the data was written to it.  You may want to convert your excel data to a txt tab delimited file and then use the Read from Spreadsheet File.vi. 

The following article discusses this in detail. http://digital.ni.com/public.nsf/allkb/C1100406DFFC68D686256F9300828A93

Once you read these coordinates into LabVIEW you can then construct an ROI using Convert Rectangle to ROI.

I hope this helps.

Tejinder Gill
National Instruments
Applications Engineer
Visit ni.com/gettingstarted for step-by-step help in setting up your system.
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 5
(4,536 Views)

Thank you very much for your help.

Maybe i did not explain my problem correctly. I tried your method, but it doesn't work for my problem. so i attached a image and give the problem in the image. 

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 5
(4,516 Views)
Solution
Accepted by topic author lenienter