LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to be sure that an event start before an other ?

Hi !

I am a newbie.

As you can see in the image attached, I want to light a diode (with an USB-6009), then take a picture (with a wireframe camera) and turn of the diode, all this in the shortest possible time.

But I have to wait some time (here 50ms) to be sure that the diode is on .

Is there a way to do this more rigorously?

Thanks in advance,

Y.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 21
(2,579 Views)

You don't want your code to run in parallel.  Write to your LED, wait the 50ms, capture the picture, then turn off your LED.  You will need a sequence structure for the wait, but you can just use the error cluster to use data flow to sequence your code.

GCentral
There are only two ways to tell somebody thanks: Kudos and Marked Solutions
Unofficial Forum Rules and Guidelines
"Not that we are sufficient in ourselves to claim anything as coming from us, but our sufficiency is from God" - 2 Corinthians 3:5
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 21
(2,555 Views)

@crossrulz wrote:

You don't want your code to run in parallel.  Write to your LED, wait the 50ms, capture the picture, then turn off your LED.  You will need a sequence structure for the wait, but you can just use the error cluster to use data flow to sequence your code.

That always annoyed me.  Why isn't there a primitive to take care of the "wait-in-a-sequence-structure" thing?  One of the first things I do on a new project is import a sub-vi made for just that purpose.  Or maybe I just answered my own question - everyone already HAS a sub-vi to take care of it.  😉

Bill
CLD
(Mid-Level minion.)
My support system ensures that I don't look totally incompetent.
Proud to say that I've progressed beyond knowing just enough to be dangerous. I now know enough to know that I have no clue about anything at all.
Humble author of the CLAD Nugget.
0 Kudos
Message 3 of 21
(2,545 Views)