LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How do i count different characters from a text.

Hello,

I'm a dutch student and I have a problem which i can't solve myself.

My English is not that good but I will try to be clear.

For a project we have to make a VI which can count how many a's, b's, c's ..... z's  there are in different kind of text. If we know the amount of a's , b's .... we have to put this in a graph.

My question is, how can we count different characters in a text? I have been working on it for a long time now and still can't find the solution.

Is there somebody who can help me? I have put a picture in this message which shows how it has to look. It shows the numbers 1 to 26, a = 1 b = 2 c= 3 .... z=26. And on the y-axis is the amount.

Kind Regards,

Jens

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 30
(4,067 Views)

you could convert the string to a byte array, sort it and then put the values into buckets, if you will.

aputman
------------------
Heads up! NI has moved LabVIEW to a mandatory SaaS subscription policy, along with a big price increase. Make your voice heard.
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 30
(4,040 Views)

I have read about that, and i think it is the most simple solution. But i'm a real rooky and it doesn't seem to work... Think i'm doing something wrong!

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 30
(4,033 Views)

Show us what you have tried so far.  Look up the terms shift register, feedback node, and conditional tunnel.  The rest is just comparisons and increments. 

aputman
------------------
Heads up! NI has moved LabVIEW to a mandatory SaaS subscription policy, along with a big price increase. Make your voice heard.
Message 4 of 30
(4,028 Views)

What have you tried?  Care to share some code so we can help you figure out what went wrong?

GCentral
There are only two ways to tell somebody thanks: Kudos and Marked Solutions
Unofficial Forum Rules and Guidelines