From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How do I use ni 9205 with cRio for a simple voltage measurement?

Hello everyone!

I have some experience with LabView but none with this hardware. I don't have FPGA installed for LabView, but I don't think I need it for cRio, unless I'm mistaken. I just have a cRio connected to my laptop via ethernet with the 9205 module installed. I have the latest RIO drivers installed, along with the latest version of LabView. I just want to take a simple voltage measurement (I have a positive lead and negative lead of a battery connected to ports 0 and 1 respectively on the 9205) with LabView, but I have no idea how to go about this. Any help would be greatly appreciated, I have thoroughly perused the manuals and tutorials and they all seem to be for using FPGA which I really don't want to buy. I tried using Scan Interface Mode but LabView wouldn't let me make a project in that mode (it said I was missing a bunch of controls/subVIs...) I've been stuck on this for a week so any help would be very VERY appreciated! Thanks so much!

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 7
(3,237 Views)

Do you have the Real Time Module installed?

You'll definitely need to use Scan Engine if you don't have the FPGA Module.

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 7
(3,209 Views)

Shy,

Just to make sure you are doing everything correctly, open a blank project and right-click on my project and select new > targets and devices.  Add your cRIO by choosing your real time compact rio under existing target or device.  When you choose to use Scan Interface mode take a screenshot of the error and show us that.