Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How do I turn a solenoid on and off?

Hello.

The hardware is as follows:

Labview 2009

PCI-MIO-16E-1

SCB-68 shielded I/O connector block

My job is to create a program that can work as a base from which we can create more complicated programs.  I am new to Labview.  I have watched some youtube tutorial videos and have a basic understanding of the program operation.  I built a program that reads voltage values as you rotate a potentiometer, very complex I know, as a training exercise.  From that, I see how to acquire data from an input.  The next step is to write a program that turns on and turns off a solenoid via a button.  Once I have that down, I can figure out more complex methods of turning it on and off using timing, pressure, etc.

I tried looking at some of the code from other projects, but it isn't clear what is going on.  I keep searching for an example online, but I the examples are all beyond my level of understanding.  Any help would be appreciated.  Even if you just point me to a site that has step by step examples. 

Thanks.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 8
(2,824 Views)

Hi Zack,

don't search online, search in LabVIEW help menu: "Example finder"!

LabVIEW comes with a lot of examples...

Best regards,
GerdW

using LV2016/2019/2021 on Win10/11+cRIO, TestStand2016/2019
Message 2 of 8
(2,806 Views)

Thanks.  I will commence the search immediately.

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 8
(2,771 Views)

GerdW,

I think the main problem is I don't know exactly what to search for.  Nothing came up when I searched "solenoid."  I think I'm being too specific.