LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How do I count events falling into three categories?

Solved!
Go to solution

Hello everyone,

My name is Sean Cummings. I am very new to Labview and this is my first post on the forum. I work for a testing facility dealing with automotive components. I run test cells and build parts. I recently commissioned a new test cell at our location which came from another one of our facilities. The test cell impacts axles. The Labview program we use to run the cell was created by one of our few programmers. He is extremely busy and works in another facility so I have taken it upon myself to learn more about Labview and try on my own to make improvements to the software. I plan to attend some of the Core Labview classes if I find that I enjoy working with the software (so far i do).

Currently the program is mostly manually controlled. Data paths and controls such as speed are commanded by the operator. There is a 4 second automated cycle in which the Labview VI commands clutches to initate the impact and aquires data from 3 load cells and a speed sensor. Once this cycle is complete the operator must click a button to open a call by reference subvi. The subvi analyzes the impact data and displays a graph as well as several calculated data points. The operator is then required to open an excel spreadsheet and manually enter the data. I created the spreadsheet with conditional formatting to show the operator whether the impact event was within the acceptable range and to track impacts over target, in target range, and under target. Currently each part runs 400 impact cycles and the operator must transfer 6 data points for each impact. In the next couple weeks we will be testing parts going 1640 impact cycles. We need a better solution to make the process more efficient.