LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How do I convert bits into a word

I have a motor with a quadrature encoder. I lack the proper DAQ to read both channels (Currently have the NI-USB-6009) so I was going to try to go about it a different way to acquire the resolution I am looking for. I was going to go from the quadrature encoder to an external decoder/counter (HCTL-2016). This will only supply me the MSB and the LSB at one time. I am also going to use a PIC to interface into both the decoder and the DAQ, so both know when to send and accept signals. So therefore I have a total of 16 bits going into LabVIEW, in two seperate bytes. I am new to Labview and was wondering how I could go about taking these bits and putting them in a "register" so I could make a word and convert to a decimal to receive the motor RPM and response. This register would then have to be cleared for the next word to be stored. Please let me know if there is an easier way to acquire the motor response without purchasing a new DAQ or if you think that I am approaching this wrong.

Thanks,

Nicholas

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 17
(5,452 Views)

If you have a 2 byte string, you can use the typecast function to convert that to a number.  By putting a constant that is either U16 or I16 representation into the top of it, you'll get either an unsigned or signed 16-bit integer.

You'll have to pay attention to endianism (is MSB or LSB first).  If you need to, you could use swap bytes on the numeric value to correct the endianism.

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 17
(5,449 Views)

So right now, I have a DAQ Assistant running to the typecast function, with a constant of 16 going into the top. I am then using a split signal function so I can pull each bit from the word I created and multiplying each one by 2^n to where each one is then added together to give me my decimal equivalent for the motor RPM. Does this seem like the right approach? Thanks for the help.

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 17