LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How do I add in a pause trigger so that while I am running an experiment I can hold a voltage and keep it constant until I un-pause the experiment?

Hello, I am a Chemistry graduate student doing electrochemical measurements with a Keithley 2400 sourcemeter.

I am very new to programming, especially labview programming. I am modifying a pre-existing cyclic voltammetry program so that I can use it as a voltage ramp program.

I would like to add a pause button so that the program pauses at a specified voltage and holds the voltage constant until I manually unpause the program. Then the program will continue to act as a cyclic voltammetry experiment. I am not sure about how to do this or what VI's to use...can anyone help me?

I have attached a copy of my cyclic voltammetry VI. Its a library with 4 cv VI's in it, the actual program is the cv.vi. Thanks!

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 6
(2,748 Views)

You are going to need a better design pattern to implement your needs.

A Producer - Consumer (Events) would allow for the consumer loop to use a Queued Message Handler, otherwise known as a state machine.  Your States then would become:

• Init
  • Idle (Pause)
  • Generate and aquire a point
  • Exit

There are some good examples of these patterns that ship with LabVIEW.

"Should be" isn't "Is" -Jay
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 6
(2,741 Views)

I'm not really sure what you mean by another "design pattern". It appears to me as though this program has the sweeping ability I need, I simply need to pause at a voltage and have it hold until it unpauses.

I'm not really sure as well what a "state machine" is and where I would insert it into my pre-existing program.I'm not very good with coding language, so a lot of these terms I don't understand. I'm better with more direction and a dulled down explaination.