LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How can I setup an event structure that sends text when user presses "Return" button?

Solved!
Go to solution

I am new to Event Structure programming.  I am trying to set up a program that causes the contents of a string control to be processed when the user presses the Return key within after typing into the string control.  I think (hope!) that this is simple, I just cannot figure out how to do it.

Basically, I'd like to take the attached VI and modify such that the user can send the "String In" control value to the "String Out" indicator by either pressing the "Return" key or by pressing the "Send String" button.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Forbes Black
Lapsed CLAD, LV 5 - LV 2022 (Yeah, I'm that old...)
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 11
(3,191 Views)

Hi,

Please find the attached VI where i have added your requirement

I have added following things:

1. In the same send string boolean event i have added the value change event for string in control

2. Right click the control and i have enabled the limit to single line.

Hope i think this will help

Message 2 of 11
(3,183 Views)

Thanks!!  It looks like you did not have to do anything to specifically tell the program to look for the "Return" button.  It appears that the default trigger for "Change Value" on a string is when the return key is pressed, yes?

Forbes Black
0 Kudos
Message 4 of 11
(3,167 Views)
Solution
Accepted by topic author diarmaede

This example doesn't have anything to do with the RETURN key specifically.  It simply fires whenever the value of either control changes.  If you click outside the text box or on a different control the value still changes and the event still fires.  This is often the desired behaviour so if it works in your application you're good to go.