LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How can I sample data into small files and work with Matlab?

Hi,

I am new to LabView. I have a PXI-6133. I need to do a very simple thing:

Sample 8 analog inputs simultaneously at 2MHz for a long time (~30min), save the data and then work with the data in Matlab. 

I am using the "TDMS streaming - Cont Log Data Only.vi" but I have 2 problems:

1. Since I am sampling for a long time, the resulting files are very big. I found several VIs that are supposed to split them but none of them worked.

2. I'm unable to open the TDMS files with Matlab - again, I found several posts on that issue but nothing worked for me.

How can I perform the data acquisition? It can be read to any file as long as it's divided into a few files and can be read by Matlab.

Thanks in advance.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 9
(3,947 Views)

Greetings,

You can read TDMS files in Matlab. I'm sure when researching on the forums you came across this page that has examples code on how to read TDMS files in Matlab. If you download the attachment you can run the .m scripts located in the samples folder.

To address the other questions, which VIs were you looking at that break down TDMS files? If you use the VIs do you get any errors? Do you want a certain number of points in each file? Currently the TDMS files are too large to process all of the data at once? You could definitely implement some logic to create new files once a certain number of iterations of your program has run. That would involve using the lower level TDMS file VIs. The DAQmx Configure Logging VI you are using isn't very customizable and you may have better luck using the lower level TDMS VIs.

Stephanie A.
Americas Marketing Manager
National Instruments
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 9
(3,922 Views)