LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How can I append data to an Excel spreadsheet using ActiveX control?

Hi all - I have a VI that I found on the forum that is giving me 95% of what I need. I have made some modifications to it to fit my program a little more but is generally doing the same thing. It is opening up Excel via ActiveX sever and saving data that I have acquired. The part I am struggling with is if this file already exists I want to append it to that file. So using the VI I have attached I have an array of data. I start inserting the data in column A row 1. Then that is saved. Then I want to open that same file up and append more data starting at column C row 1. I want to then save the file again w/o an Excel prompt as far as saving with the same filename. I am a novice when it comes to the ActiveX controls so I am now to the point of asking for help. I have been all over the forums and cannot find an example that helps me. Please ignore any sloppiness with front panel or block diagrams as that is a cleanup stage for me after I get a VI operating correctly. I have not reached that point with this one as of yet. Thanks in advance for any help with this one.

Troy

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 23
(4,516 Views)

Context...need context. Is this VI called in a loop? If so, are you incerementing the column? Or, does this VI need to determine the last column? For the saving part to save the file again use the Save method instead of Save As.

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 23
(4,514 Views)

This VI is called in a loop. If it was not clear I stated how it is used in the beginning of my post although I did not state that it was used in a loop. However as I said I will save the data first starting at Column A row 1. I will save the next bit of data starting at column C row 1. The rows are what gets incremented after the starting row and column are input.

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 23
(4,512 Views)