LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How avoid using while loops into a event structure

Solved!
Go to solution

I'm quite new in LabVIEW, so I hope a constructive criticism. The VI will control and instrument using the serial port, and I receive and an echo as feedback. I have different inputs in my front panel (Amplitude, Operation mode, Frequency, Reset, Stop, and Start), and I'm using an event structure to handle any change in my controls. I use single or nested while and for loops inside the event structure. And, I've unticked the option to "lock panel until the case for this event completes" and used local variables, in order to use the same stop button in all the while loops.

However, I've read several posts and they suggest to not doing what I'm doing, so I would like to know if it is possible improving my code. Could you help me?

Download All
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 16
(4,140 Views)

Yo can do it by taking the state machine with events architecture and as the event is triggered, call another state and perform all your while loop actions or anything in that state and when it is done, again call back it to the state in which you have placed the event structure.

Certified-LabVIEW-Developer_rgb.jpg

Best Regards,
Prince Agarwal,
Certified LabVIEW Developer
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 16
(4,123 Views)

Dranek wrote:

However, I've read several posts and they suggest to not doing what I'm doing, so I would like to know if it is possible improving my code. Could you help me?

Yes, you code is "inside-out". You've seen my post here, but there are quite a few others.

However, it is difficult to offer clear suggestions if all we see is a truncated code picture. We cannot tell what is in the other cases of case and event structures. We cannot see how the event is configured, etc. etc.