From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

High sample rate data acquisition using DAQ and saving data continuously. Also I would like to chunck data into a new file in every 32M

Solved!
Go to solution

Hi: 

I am very new to LabView, so I need some help to come up with an idea that can help me save data continuously in real time. Also I don't want the file to be too big, so I would like to crete a new file in every 32 mega bytes, and clear the previous buffer. Now I have this code can save voltage data to TDMS file, and the sample rate is 2m Hz, so the volume of data increase very fast, and my computer only have 2G ram, so the computer will freeze after 10 seconds I start to collect data. I need some advise from you briliant people.

Thanks very much I really appreciate that. 

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 11
(4,234 Views)

As long as you can write to disk at a faster rate than you acquire the data, you can (usually) use the parallel nature of LabVIEW to set up a Producer/Consumer Design Pattern to "stream" your acquired data directly to disk.  There are numerous examples in LabVIEW (including Example Projects and New Templates), but this is the general idea:

• Have a Producer Loop that runs at some rate (say N points at a time).  Put these points into a Queue (which gets them out of the Producer loop and lets the loop keep running).
  • Bring the Queue to the Consumer loop, which dequeues the N points and writes them to an already-opened file and continues as long as points show up in the Queue.
  • Create the Queue with enough space to accomodate minor fluctuations in the rate that the Consumer loop runs (due to unpredictable times for moving disk heads and platters, for instance).