LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Help with recording and reading data

Hello! I am new to LabView so forgive me for any mistakes. I needed to creat a VI that would conver an input temperature in either Celsius or Farenheit to its counterpart. I got that part done, but now need to record the input temperature to a binary file and graph every 10 seconds (take the measurement every 10 seconds). My professor said that he would give bonus points for not using express VIs for this part and this is what I am stuck on. I also need to be able to read an input file. Not sure What im doing wrong! 

First file is what is most complete, second file is what is only for converting temperatures.

Download All
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 5
(3,100 Views)

You have no loop in your VI where you are trying to log the data.  So you will only log one data point.

I also noticed that your byte orders are different between your write and read operations.  I recommend just getting rid of those controls and let the functions use the default (they will be consistent that way).

And use -1 for your numer of samples to read out of the file.  That will read the entire file.

GCentral
There are only two ways to tell somebody thanks: Kudos and Marked Solutions
Unofficial Forum Rules and Guidelines
"Not that we are sufficient in ourselves to claim anything as coming from us, but our sufficiency is from God" - 2 Corinthians 3:5
Message 2 of 5
(3,079 Views)

Good job getting started, looks like you have something functional.

You don't have any loops in your 111.vi, so I'm assuming you're using the Run Continuously button. This isn't the way to do it because you're running the entire code every single time.

That being said, you seem to have the concept of opening, writing, and closing the file using the binary VIs.