LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Help with my automated motion (stepper motor)

I'm new to Labview, hoped I could get some help, I have only had experience with VB prior. Let me explain what I'm trying to do.

So far I've tried to create (im sure it is wrong, I haven't tested it yet) a motor control button interface, whereby I can move the position of the motor. The motor will be connected to a threaded rod, so the distance along the rod is what i mean by position. I've made a forward button and backwards button to control this motion. So the motor moves when the button is held down. I also what the position to be shown in the numeric indicator. I've done this by incrementing +1 for every pulse send to the motor in the forward loop and -1 in the backward loop.

For instance, I hold forward button, +1+1+1  =3  then hold back button -1 -1 = -2   so I end up with  =1 in the numeric indicator.  Will the numeric indicator go into negative numbers? I want it to be able to.

So thats what ive tried to do, I also just shoved the direction pulse output into one of the loops so that it moves the motor the opposite way, is that right?

Ok heres what I want to do, your suggestions would be most appriciated.

I want to use a button to set the position from whatever it shows, to zero. Like a reset button.

I want to be able to record the position at any moment, so that i can later make the motor move back to that exact position. 

eg  press a button that makes the motor move back to 0 and a button which then moves the motor the the position that was recorded.

Thanks. 

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 2
(1,918 Views)

Numeric indicators are just that, indicators.  they don't have restrictions on positive, negative, etc.  If you mean a numeric control, right-click and go to properties.  you can set the max/min values and what action to take of the value goes outside those limits.