cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Help with complicated 2d array build

Solved!
Go to solution

Hello,

Just a short introduce: I'm new to labview programming, this is my first post here on forum. This forum has been very useful in my start with learning labview programming. Currently just have an issue that i'm not able to fix, some ideas or help would be very welcome. Smiley Wink

The measurement setup: I'm making a program for a measurement setup with a sensor mounted on two axis, x and y. By moving the axis I can measure a square field of points. For technical reasons measurements always start in the bottom left side of the field, then I measure all the points above it by moving the sensor along the Y-axis. Then I move the sensor one step to the right on the X- axis and read all the points on the Y-axis again and create my field of measuring points by this. Reading the sensor data and doing some basic stuff like calculations and displaying in charts and writing to excel is not a problem.

Now I have a two questions: (obviously after trying hard Smiley Frustrated)

- How do I fill a 2d array starting at the bottom left side and ending in the top right side. (Filling columns first as described)

- Secondly, I want to fill every cell of that array only when I a click on a button on the front panel, but how?

So in the end I get something like this: I click on the button, then measurement starts, reads the sensor value into bottom left cell of array, then program 'jumps' to cell above it. Then the whole thing over again, I click the button, read the value and so on. Well I hope you guys get the idea...

I guess I have to program the 'array-fill-code' in a case structure that becomes true when the button is clicked. And I think that I have to use the 'build array' function or the 'replace array subset' function. But how?

Any help, ideas, inspiration or example vi's are welcome!

With best regards,

WHW

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 8