LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Help parsing UDP Packet

Solved!
Go to solution

Hello, I am new to Labview and am working on a program to read UDP packets. I have been looking at the UDP Receive example from Labview and also reading older posts.The data consists of 1-Header word (32-bits), 24-data words (each word is 32-bits), and the rest of the data is filler data which is all ones. Every packet is the same size.  So far by using the UDP Receiver.vi example I am able to receive the data and could probably push on with what I have but I would like to know if there is an easier way to parse a UDP data packet? I've read others that used a Cluster and the TypeCast but can't seem to get it to work. When I try to connect my Cluster up to the TypeCast it the wire goes to dotted line.

If anyone has some suggestions on easier ways to parse a UPD packet please let me know.

Thanks,

joe

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 15
(6,197 Views)

Can you show us what you've tried, using Type Cast? The cluster to which you are typecasting cannot contain strings, arrays, or any other variable-length data type. You should create a cluster containing 25 32-bit values (to save some time, create an array of 32-bit values, insert "Array to Cluster", and set the cluster size to 25, then create a constant or control from that, after which you can delete the array and "array to cluster"). Typecast to that cluster. You may need to use Unflatten from String instead of Type Cast, if the endianness is wrong. You can safely ignore the filler. You still need to read it, but when you do the type cast it will ignore any data past the end of the target data type.

Why does your current VI have a lot of unnecessary controls? Why are you initializing a bunch of unused arrays? The reason your UDP_PACKET cluster doesn't work for Type Cast is because all the elements are arrays where they should be scalars (single values).

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 15
(6,177 Views)