LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Hart communication with labview

Hello

I'm working on a school project, where I'm using different types of flowmeters and ABB 2600T transmitter to measure the flow trough the pipes. The transmitter sends out a singal of 4-20mA depending on the flow. How hard is it to implement HART in labview? Like set upper and lower range value from labview?

I downloaded Brooks MFC. But I didn't understand how it works, and there was no user manual or anything like that. I'm very new to labview and HART communication in general. So I need to get it explained step-by-step. Not sure if I have take water over my head when it comes to my labview skills and the task I'm trying to solve.

I use NI9171 to measure the current. I have managed to read the current in labview. So I will manage to get the program to work without HART implementet. But it would look so much more professional.

Thanks in advanced. 

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 7
(9,103 Views)

It's definitely possible, but requires an expensive HART modem. There's a sample project here: http://www.ni.com/example/31203/en/ I'm sure you could implement your own HART modem with the right NI board, but that's a lot of effort for little gain. In my opinion, if the only reading you need is the one provided by the 4-20mA loop, I'd stick with the simple analog reading. In fact, that's exactly what I did on a work project recently. The system has 2 pressure transducers that supply an analog 4-20mA signal and support HART, and since all we needed was the pressure measurement and we already had an analog input board, the choice was easy. I don't think there's anything unprofessional about this approach.

Message 2 of 7
(9,072 Views)

Hello

i would need exactly the same as member ojb.

I'm using cRio9066, hart modem Amtec AM-9898 HART cRIO Module and flow meter ABB water master FEV111.