cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Hall effect gaussmeter

Solved!
Go to solution
Hey everybody! :smileyvery-happy:

I'm a total LabView newbie, so maybe my question is probably answered in about a dozen places.  All help is appreciated, and please feel free to point me to other threads/tutorials/examples.

What i'm trying to do is simulate a gaussmeter via labview.I have a hall effect sensor from honeywell,model  ss496a1 and a daq(NI USB-6008).How exactly can i build my gaussmeter?I know i have to supply my sensor with a Vc and then measure Voutunder the presence of a magnetic field,but i cant because obviously i'm doing something wrong!Can anyone tell me the exact steps i have to go through?

Many thanks in advance!
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 35
(4,802 Views)

First, you should try to be as specific as possible about your problem.  What have you tried?  Exactly what does not work?  What error messages do your get?  Does it work but produce incorrect results?  How do you know they are incorrect?

The sensor draws about 8.7 mA when supplied with 5 V.  Its output is 2.500 V (bias) with 2.5 mV/G (signal) superimposed.

The USB-6008 has a 12-bit converter and several ranges.  The +/-4 V range is probably the one you would use since the signal voltage can exceed 2.5 V.  On that range 12-bit resolution means that the least significant bit (LSB) is equal to 1.95 mV.  So your resolution is on the order of 1 gauss.  Of course if you have noise, drift in the supply, or other problems you may not get performance that good.

It looks like your equipment should allow you to make some filed measurements, so let us know where you are having problems.

Lynn 

Message 2 of 35
(4,781 Views)

First of all,i want you to know that i am a total newbie to both labview and hall effect measurements.

So at first,i dont even know if my block diagram at labview is right.I attach my first thought of what it could look like.