cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

HOW TO VOID A MEASUREMENT

Solved!
Go to solution

Hi,

Where i am taking my measurement, occasionally i am reading a bad string from the board that is outputting.

Is there a way i can void this measurement without stopping the loop?

such as measuring the string length and if under a certain amount goto the end of the loop and take another reading?

attached is the vi.

Thanks 

Alex

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 12
(2,669 Views)
Solution
Accepted by topic author Detox92

Just place all the anaysis and output code inside a case structure and execute it only if the data is valid. Leave the other case empty.

Message 2 of 12
(2,653 Views)

Hi,

Thanks for the reply,

Is there any chance you could show me on my vi or in an example, i am very new to this and im not 100% on what you mean.

Sorry and thanks

Alex

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 12
(2,649 Views)

Alex,

First, Your VI is almost unreadable. You have wires hidden behind structures and youseem to have an aversion to straight wires. (Although the latter may simply be the insane Auto Wire Routing tool.) The diagram is more than twice the size of my 27 inch screen.

You seem to have a well-defined string format (which can probably be decoded in one step using Spreadsheet String to Array). The Search/Split String function has an Offset Past Match output. If the match is not found that output will be -1. You could test for -1 at those outputs to detect a missing character.

I do not understand what you are trying to accomplish with your conversion of 2D arrays to Dynamic Data Type to a single scalar.  Index Array, Add Array Elements, or Mean.vi seem like they would make more sense.

You do not need to add a second indicator to the Gauges to get a digital readout. Just pop up on the indicator and choose Visible Items >> Digital Display.

Lynn

Message 4 of 12
(2,636 Views)

Morning Lynn,