LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Guage Indicator keeps resetting to 0, after a string is recieved!

Hi there,

I am very new to LABView, this is one of my first projects. I have designed a very basic VI for a weather station. I am using a Decimal String to Number function to convert serial values from my anemometer to show on the wind guage on my front panel. However, with every rotation of my anemometer (which gives me a wind speed) it resets to zero before the next pulse. This makes the indicator switch back and forth from the output value to zero.

Is there anyway I can prevent this? I am sorry if I can't really word my question well.

Thanks,

Sheraz 🙂

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 4
(2,568 Views)

Recieved String is going blank, isn't it?

I'm not seeing a loop.  If you are using the Run Continuous button to run this VI, you really should stop that.  You should have a While Loop to loop through your code until you tell it to stop, typically with a stop button wired up to the termination node of the loop.

You should also only initialize and close your port once.  The initialize should be before the loop and the close after the loop.  You can do whatever reads and writes inside the loop.

For your VISA Read, increase the number of bytes you are reading.  I would set it to something larger than the largest sized message you could recieve.  The VISA Read will stop the read when it sees the termination character (a Line Feed right now).

You also do not need the sequence structure.  Chain up the functions with the VISA Resource and Error wires.

GCentral
There are only two ways to tell somebody thanks: Kudos and Marked Solutions
Unofficial Forum Rules and Guidelines
"Not that we are sufficient in ourselves to claim anything as coming from us, but our sufficiency is from God" - 2 Corinthians 3:5
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 4
(2,556 Views)