LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Getting results to the Lego mindstorm NXT brick

In a nutshell, my group and I are trying to use eye movements to control the Lego mindstorm, ie look left turn left look right turn right etc. We will be acquiring the eye movement signals through labview signal express and running those signals into labview to move the NXT robot. We are in need of assistance in both the signal importing into labview and the subsequent utilization of the said signal by the NXT. We already have the NXT toolkit and are able to succesfully run basic programs. The problem we've had is that we need the results continuously imported into the NXT so that we can maintain control of the vehicle.  So basically we need pretty close to real time results, sort of like a joystick type of thing. My group members and I have limited experience with labview so any assistance is appreciated. 

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 10
(3,482 Views)

Hello King945,

There are many examples included with the LabVIEW NXT module which can get you started. If you open the “example finder”. To do this in LabVIEW click Help » Find Examples. Under the browse tab select Toolkits and Modules » NXT Robotics » Motors » Front Panel Steering Control.vi. This VI will allow the user to control the steering and power of the NXT device. Also, there is a Joystick example found under the example finder by selecting the Search tab and searching for ‘joystick’. The name of the example is Basic Input Demo.vi. This VI can be used to take in joystick commands. If you integrate the basics of these two VI’s it should be possible to attain the functionality that you are looking for. 

Wear
National Instruments
Product Support Engineer
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 10
(3,446 Views)