LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Get string from DLL (DLL-allocated memory)

Solved!
Go to solution

Hi, I'm aware there are plenty of threads around this topic, but there are a lot of variations and I've never used LabVIEW before, and I seem to be struggling at a very basic level, so I'm hoping someone can help me out with the very simple specific test case below to put me on the right track, before I tear my remaining hair out.

I have created a DLL with a single function "GenerateGreeting". When called, it allocates sufficient memory for the string "Hello World!\0" to the pointer pGreeting, copies that string to the pointer, and sets the GreetingLength parameter to the number of bytes allocated (in the DLL I ultimately want to use, there is a DLL function to free memory allocated this way).

I created a header file to go with the DLL, containing the following line.

extern __declspec(dllimport) int __stdcall GenerateGreeting(char* &pGreeting, int &GreetingLength);

I then imported the file into LabVIEW using the Import Shared Library wizard. That created a "Generate Greeting.vi", and all looks somewhat sensible to me (although that doesn't mean much at the moment). When I run the vi, the "GreetingLength out" correctly displays "13", the length of the string, however "pGreeting out" shows only three or four junk characters (which vary on each run), instead of the expected string.