LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Generating single random number with a boolean signal on a RT Target

Solved!
Go to solution

Hello, this is my first time posting a question. I apologize if I'm posting this question in the wrong board.

[What I'm trying to do]

I'm testing a heating and cooling equipment in an experimental space that I have (with cRio9024).

And I'm trying to set a different experiemental condition in the space based on "random number" function.

"Different experimental condition" meaning different combinations of Tind, Twat_s and mdot (refer to the attached VI).

For example, if I get boolean TRUE signal,

I should have a set of [Tind,Twat_s,mdot] = [21,14,0.05], and REMAIN this set of numbers until this boolean signal changes to FALSE.

And when the signal changes to TRUE again,

I should have different set of [Tind,Twat_s,mdot] = [24,16,0.15] as an example.

[Where I'm at]

Problem that I'm having with my code is that,

when the VI is running, the random number does NOT remain the same while the boolean signal is TRUE. 

Based on what I've searched so far for the past couple days, using "event structure" was the most relevant post that I've found,

however, LabView help tells me that "event structure" on RT targets do not support events associated with user interface such as VI front panels or controls. 

So I'd like to ask for an quick help, since my knowledge in LabView has been exhausted at this point.

Case.jpg

so this is the part where I want to generate random numbers, WHEN this case structure is TRUE.

convert random numbers into integers,

use them as an array indices,

so that I can pick radom conditions from the given set of different conditions.

Once again, what I want to do is,

generate SINGLE set of random numbers when the above case structure is TRUE.

Hope I've elaborated clear enough.

I'll appreciated any kind of advice.

Thank you! 

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 14
(5,545 Views)
Solution