LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Generating a signal from an existing VI using the FPGA

This is my first time using a forum for questions so excuse my awkward presentation.
to be short I wokred on a VI for a while with the intention of generating the output which is a continious signal ( a power quality disturbance simulator) using a USB daq only to find out that the daq I had (6009 usb) is not suitable for such applications so I moved to using a PCIe 7851 only to be overwhelmed with the whole process of using it.

I have gotten the hang of using the FPGA module to do simple tasks but my question here is if it is possible to output a signal from an other VI using the FPGA,if yes how is it done? an example would be perfect otherwise a push towards the right direction like a toturial would be enough 

Thanks in advance

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 5
(3,014 Views)

Hi rofaalla,

This page has a good overview of general FPGA programming concepts. I think section three in particular on using analog inputs and outputs will be most helpful to you.

"Getting Started With LabVIEW FPGA"

http://www.ni.com/tutorial/14532/en/#toc3

I'm afraid I don't entirely understand what you mean by outputting a signal "from another VI" using the FPGA. Could you please elaborate on this some more? What VI do you want to use, what is it's purpose, how is it structured etc. that would be helpful in giving you some more specific steps. Do you want to call another VI as a subVI from within your FPGA VI? 

From what I understand of your setup so far, I think you should be able to get the FPGA to output your signal by creating a new FPGA VI, that follows the same logic as the one you were using for the USB 6009, but instead of using the DAQmx VIs, use the FPGA analog outputs to output the signal you generate as explained in the link above. 

Thanks!

Selene
Message 2 of 5
(2,959 Views)