LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Generate File on host PC - Read on RT target // Achieve better sampling rates.

Hello everybody, I'm fairly new to LabVIEW, so bear with me. I'll start with my configuration:

>>> Host PC connected via LAN to a PXI-1042Q chassis containing a PXI-8820 controller + PXI-6259 DAQmx

The basic idea is the following:

1) I have created a State Machine VI where the user can create a velocity profile by adding subsequent linear segments. Once the user is done adding segments, he hits the finished button and the VI generates a position plot (integrating numerically the velocity) and also creates a file containing every sample in that position plot. The objective is to use each of this samples as the setpoint later in a PID control algorithm. The file contains the sample rate in the first line, and after that all the position samples. No need for timing since the sample rate is determined in the VI, hence the 1st sample corresponds to time zero, then the 2nd sample is time zero + 1 sample time, etc.

This VI runs on the host PC and uses event structure with value changes to detect user input and transition between states. 

2) Running on the RT target, I have another VI where I want to read the file created on (1), using every position line of the file as a set point for my PID block. This VI will also adquire some signals like the motor voltage, current and a position (based of a quadrature encoder reading) within a timed loop running the same sample rate as the one defined in (1). In another non-deterministic loop, all of these 3 signals are plotted and logged into a file.