From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

GPIB on PXI RT general questions

Solved!
Go to solution

Hello!

First of all, I am a real beginner in the "world of LV Real-Time". I am in the beginning of a new project where one part of the system consists of a PXI system with RT OS including a GPIB interface. This interface will be connected to several Keithley picoamp meters (model 6485 & 6487). The RT code must read data from the Keithley devices, and also perform some commands on the devices (like zero them, turn on/off high voltage, etc.). The other part of the PXI RT application will have a TCP/IP connection to a Siemens S7 system, and send data there plus recieve incoming commands to be executed on the Keithleys. Anyway, interfacing the Siemens via TCP/IP is another nice challenge, and might be a topic of another future post. Right now I just wanna deal with the GPIB part...

I would like to ask people familiar with PXI RT (and possibly with GPIB on these platforms) for best practice & advices:

1. I have got the official driver from Textronix for LabVIEW ( http://www.tek.com/specialty-instruments/6485-software/models-6485-6487-and-6514-ivi-visa-based-driv... ), but the driver operates via a DLL. I think this is not a good idea (is it even possible?) to use a DLL on a RT OS, and adds more complexity (we will have many PXI systems later). Therefore we should implement our own driver using basic VISA functions, am I right?