LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

GPIB SPOLL Affects Reading Rate HP 3478A

Hello all, 

Disclaimer: I am relatively new to LabVIEW so it's very possible that there's something easy and obvious that I am missing. That said, I thank you in advance for your help. 

I am writing a data acquisition program for an experimental setup featuring multiple instruments from which I need to record data asynchronously over a GPIB connection.

My plan, I thought, was pretty straightforward: I wish to use the GPIB I/O functions to wait for an instrument to interrupt the controller, serial poll to find out which instrument has data ready, read, then repeat. 

For the moment, I am testing my program with  an HP 3478A DMM. 

My problem is this: I noticed using NI I/O Trace that my program gets hung up for more than ten seconds whenever it needs to read an instrument output. However, I know I have read from this instrument at far greater speeds. I built a quick test VI, and noticed that if I simply read from the instrument without checking for SRQ or Data Ready then GPIB Read operates quickly (0.2 s/measurement). However, if I insert an SPOLL before the Read (not doing anything with it, just calling the function) then it hangs for around 17 seconds before continuing.

I have attached my simple test VI, an image of it, as well as screen-shots of the I/O Trace outputs for when the SPOLL is enabled vs disabled. 

Again, I am pretty new to LabVIEW; it may be that this is some simple error, or that it's something specific to the  3478A, or our GPIB set up.

Thank you again for your help!

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 5
(2,817 Views)
A serial poll call should not take that long. As I recall this type of poll returns a bunch is status bits. It is not beyond the realm of possibility that there is a bug in the instrument.

Mike...

Certified Professional Instructor
Certified LabVIEW Architect
LabVIEW Champion

"... after all, He's not a tame lion..."