LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

GENser library/VI

I am very new to LabVIEW and this forum. So please let me know if I should post this question elsewhere. I inherited a bunch of LabVIEW programs from another guy and trying to understand how it works. I'm trying to open a LabVIEW VI with many sub VIs. From what I understand, there is a sub VI called GENser that is missing. When I try to load the VI, Labview keeps searching for GENser config, GENser initialize, GENser open, GENser close. As far as I could tell, this sub VI reads the voltage supply and passes it on. I tried to search for the VI on the computer and it did not show up. Are there any tips to figure out what this sub VI does? Is GENser a generic name for a type of VI?

P.S.: The guy who worked on this has moved on and no one else here knows LabVIEW!

Thanks

Asade

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 11
(4,975 Views)
You seem to know that it's related to a power supply so you should be looking for a driver for that. You haven't provided the make and model of the supply so I'm not going to guess what you need. Look at the instrument driver network - http://www.ni.com/downloads/instrument-drivers/ or check with the vendor of the supply.

The actual VI might be inside an llb or lvlib so a rudimentary search of a VI might not return anything. It is anything but generic. The first link explains what an instrument driver is.
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 11
(4,966 Views)

Dennis is absolutely right that it is an instrument driver.  I have found an instrument driver on this page which I believe contains the subVIs you are talking about: http://sine.ni.com/apps/utf8/niid_web_display.download_page?p_id_guid=F9944941B4CF18E6E0340003BA230E...

Now you will still want to check if your instrument is compatible under that driver but I think TDK-Lambda possibly has the dirver set you are looking for.

Aaron L.
Applications Engineer
National Instruments
0 Kudos
Message 3 of 11
(4,928 Views)