LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Front panel cluster makes VI unresponsive

Hi,

I have a VI that have large cluster (strict type control) on the front panel. Cluster contains numeric, arrays of numeric, references and classes, it does not contains complicated structures. This control is used by many VIs in the a project (it is fairly a large one containing more than 1000 VIs). The problem is that when I change something in the cluster (add new control, delete one,...) it takes quite some time to update everything and the VI becomes unresponsive (sometimes also LV 2012 crashes). This is probably due to all the updating that it has to be done.

I am looking for a solution to a better performance. Maybe data value reference is the solution (I have no experience with it)? If I put the control into data value reference and the pass this reference into VIs, will this result in a better performance?

Any other suggestions?

Thanks!

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 8
(2,662 Views)

There are several solutions you might try, depending on how your code is architected:

1. Close everything before modifying the cluster.  This may not be possible or desireable, depending on what else is going on.  This is what I usually do in this situation.
  2. Break your cluster into smaller clusters so fewer things are dependent upon each piece of it.  This could take awhile.
  3. Replace the cluster with a class.  Updating the class data should not cause all the references to update.  This could take awhile.

I don't think using a data value reference will cause the problem to go away, since DVRs are also strictly typed based on the data they contain.  I could be wrong, since I have never tested this.