LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Frequency, Samples per second, and number of samples.

Hi everyone,

I am new to LabVIEW and I am a little bit confused with the definition and relationship of these terms. I have a DAQ device and I am trying to output a sine wave of 1004 Hz through one of the analog ports. I am using the basic function generator in labview to generate this signal for me but I dont know exactly what to put for the # of samples and the samples rate. If I just set the sampling rate to be a lil bit more than twice the frequency, I dont get a clean sine wave in the oscilloscope.

thanks for your help,

JkUco

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 14
(60,185 Views)

Sample Rate means "points per second".  Suppose you want to make a 1 Hz sine wave (goes up and down once per second).  If you set your sample rate at 1000 Hz (1000 samples per second, or 1 KHz), you will generate 1000 points every second, 250 "going up from 0", 250 "going back to 0", 250 going negative, and the final 250 returning you to zero.  If you were to plot this using the LabVIEW Chart, you'd see a nice smooth 1 Hz sine wave.

There's something called the "Sampling Theorem" that says you need to sample at a speed at least twice the highest frequency of your signal.  Consider sampling at 1000 Hz, but using a 500 Hz sine wave.  You'd get one point at the peak, one at the bottom, then the third point would be at the peak of the second cycle, the fifth at the peak of the third, etc.  To see a "nice picture" of your signal, you may want to sample 10 times faster than the signal (that means you're drawing the sinusoid with 10 points).

Message 2 of 14
(60,174 Views)

Thanks for the quick reply Mr. Schor.

That answered most of my questions, but I still have one left.