LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Flashing red border! (She can't hold it much longer, Captain!)

I did a very simple change to some code in my program and when I tried to run it, it got to the case structure where I did my little change and suddenly the border of that case started flashing red and blue.

Obviously this means something is wrong, but what? I'm a newbie and I've never seen this before. How can I pinpoint where my problem is? I put it into debug mode and I don't see where it's getting hung up. My code is obviously okay or I wouldn't be able to even start it.
Amateur programmer for over 10 years!
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 20
(7,677 Views)
Spif,

Aye, cap'n, you've inadvertently created a breakpoint in the case structure, or left one behind when you didn't intend to. You should be able to see a red box around the inner wall of that case structure even when the VI is not running.

Go to your Tools palette, select the Set/Clear Breakpoint tool, and use it to click anywhere in the white background of your case structure, and the breakpoint should be cleared.

--John
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 20
(7,663 Views)
While editing you inadvertently used the Break Point tool and Clicked on your case structure. The program proceeds upto the Case structure and halts because of this break point.

Get out of the run mode into Programming mode. Navigate to the Case Structure and Use the Break point tool to click on red Case structure.

The Breakpoint tool is Circular with Red Interior.
Good Luck!

Mache
0 Kudos
Message 3 of 20
(7,664 Views)
Got it! Who put that breakpoint in there? Can I blame it on the liberal media?? Or was this part of the vast right-wing conspiracy??

I've never used it before, so no wonder I didn't recognize it or know what was happening. It definitely caught my attention!

Thanks!!
0 Kudos
Message 4 of 20
(7,657 Views)
The breakpoint was put there by a little cartoon character named Calvin.
- tbob