From 04:00 PM CDT – 08:00 PM CDT (09:00 PM UTC – 01:00 AM UTC) Tuesday, April 16, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Filtering voltage spikes

Hi There

I am recording a signal through my USB9221 DAQ.  it is a relatively noisy enviroment but my main problem is that im sitting above massive contactors which switch every so often, and when they do the line picks up the spikes. i dont think it is possible to modify anything physically to shield itself from the noise so is there any way to do it in labview?

i have tried a few different VI low pass filters but as i am new to LV its really difficult to find the right filter.

the best filter i found was the express filter. it filters most of the smaller noise but does very little to the spikes

the signal obtained is a speed signal and the frequency is very low or sometimes DC.

Hope you can help

Regards

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 11
(6,945 Views)

A low pass filter should work.  Set the cutoff frequency a little above the highest frequency in your speed signal.

If that does not work, something like the noise blanker used in radio receivers to eliminate impulse noise might help. A blanker detects the spike and replaces the data with the average of the values immediately preceeding it.

Are the spikes you get consistent in amplitude and duration or do they vary significantly depending on which contactor switches?  Does the magnitude of the spike always exceed the largest possible speed signal?  Can you post an image of the spikes on the speed signal?

Lynn 

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 11
(6,922 Views)

You could also try to sampling with a much higher samplerate than needed, and then down sample your signal with averaging. Se example. Then doing only doing averaging you will not get any phase displacement in the output signal