LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Feedback nodes and local variables

Hi everyone,

I am new to labview and currently learning its basics while building an application. However, I have used a few local variables (even for images!), which has made the program slow but still very workable for normal standards. I was wondering whether it is better to use local variables or feedback nodes when both can be done for my program.

For example, for using a stacked sequence, I need to pass image from one frame to the next frame (Its inside a while loop). This can be done using local variables, or using feedback node since I know the data flow. I have read the local variables use up more memory, and have not found anything against feedback nodes. Which one should I use for better performance?

Also, does the same apply, for example, event structures (for just using the outputs as inputs for every case so that all operations are stored), or even case structures??

Suggestions would be appreciated.

(If it makes any difference, I am using labview 8.5 evaluation)

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 3
(3,035 Views)

I'm not familiar with LabVIEW 8.5 (and since you're using an evaluation copy, I would query why you are becoming familiar with 8.5...) but I firstly want to point out that having a Stacked Sequence Structure inside a While loop doesn't have anything to do with its frames. The frames will all execute every iteration, and then next iteration, they will all run again.

Generally Stacked (and Flat) Sequence Structures are discouraged because they have some intrinsic limitations - for example, if something bad happens in frame 5 of 8, you can't skip frames 6,7 and 8 - there is no way (apart from pressing Abort) of leaving a sequence structure during its execution.

A common alternative is the State Machine. This is a Case structure in a While loop, where the behaviour is determined by a (preferably type-def'd) Enum.